8 Oz. Burger Bar

“When Additives Are Good”

Yesterday it rained in Los Angeles. I mean it REALLY poured down on the city. It was just for an hour in the afternoon while my husband Peter and I were in the car. We were on our way to pick up some new books at the Cook’s Library and the thundering lightning made me jump in my seat.

We rarely go out to lunch on the weekends because we usually have a late breakfast in the garden. But since it was stormy we decided to stop on the way to the book store. Being fans of chef Govind Armstrong and his Table8 restaurant, we decided to check out his 8 Oz. Burger Bar. It’s in the same location as the old Table8, which is scheduled to reopen next year in a different space.

Looking over the menu I was happy to see that Govind’s Short Rib Grilled Cheese made the cut. It was my favorite bite at Table8, and even Oprah’s best friend Gail thought it so special that it was featured on Oprah.

So of course I wanted to order the grilled cheese but we came for burgers, and that’s when the fun started. The list of additions, available to top each burger read like a well-stocked chef’s pantry.

You first select the BURGER:
Peter and I both chose “The 8 Oz.” which is a “house blend of sirloin, tri-tip, short rib and chuck, cured in a himalayan salt-tiled locker and grilled over oak wood”. The burger comes with mustard, mayo, ketchup, lettuce, pickles, onion and heirloom tomato. $10 

Next you select your CHEESE:
Choices included Bel Paese, White Cheddar, Blue Cheese, Humboldt Fog, American, Fried Mozzarella, Cave Aged Gruyere. This is an extra $1.

Then it’s time to pick SAUCES:
Hot Sauce, Purple Mustard, Spicy Mayo, Thousand Island, Horseradish Dijonaise, Ranch, Tomato Chutney, Barbecue, Poached Garlic Aioli, Blue Cheese Sauce, Green Peppercorn Aioli, Smoked Tomato, Fried Caper Tarter, Hothouse Cucumber Relish and Heirloom Tomato Ketchup. $1 each.

You’re not done yet…. EXTRAS:
House Cured Bacon, Mustard Greens, Wild Baby Arugula, Avocado, Roasted Mushrooms, Sunflower Sprouts, Fried Green Tomatoes, Charred Escarole, Balsamic Grilled Red Onion, Red Onion Marmalade and Garlic Roasted Tomatoes. $2 each.

I ordered the 8 Oz. Burger with Cave Aged Gruyere and Hothouse Cucumber Relish. I didn’t want to go overboard on the burger so I could, well, TASTE the burger. On the side I had some crispy Stout Battered Onion Rings.

Peter ordered the 8 Oz. Burger with Fried Mozzarella Cheese, Crispy Bacon and Tomato Chutney. He went for a full flavored plate by adding a side of Truffled Potato Skins.

Secretly I was chastising him for “over” doing it on the burger toppings. And then I saw his BURGER. Suddenly I was drooling, jealous and wanted a MENU ORDER DO-OVER!

My burger was delicious, but Peter’s deep-fried cheese and bacon topped beef plate was AWESOME! And the potato skins with truffle oil were just an added bonus to the plate.

The next time we go to 8 Oz. Burger I will NOT be holding back on the toppings. The burgers are superb, but to be honest, I think it’s all about the wonderful “additives”!
8oz Burger by MyLastBite.com
The 8 Oz. topped with Cave Aged Gruyere and Hothouse Cucumber Relish.

8oz Burger by MyLastBite.com
The 8 Oz. Burger topped with Fried Mozzarella, Bacon & Tomato Chutney.

8oz Burger by MyLastBite.com
Truffled Potato Skins.

 

UPDATE: 8 Oz has CLOSED

8 Oz. Website
661 Melrose Ave. , Los Angeles, CA
(323) 852-0008

Dining date: 11/1/08

1 Comment

Filed under Eating Out

One response to “8 Oz. Burger Bar

  1. I want to go with you! I am on the quest for the perfect burger!

Leave a Reply

