Delicious, Recession Proof SPAM!

Lovely SPAM, MyLastBite.comAdAge.com recently listed SPAM as #9 (out of 10) in a list of “Recession-Proof Businesses”. Soup is listed as #1 which makes sense because it’s relatively inexpensive, but I was startled to see that SPAM came after Guns (#8) and even after Laxatives (#6).

Seriously? In these tough economic times… Ex-Lax, Glocks and Winchesters are more important than SPAM? I have to say, this sort of made me worry about the state of our fine country.

So to cheer myself up, I broke out a tin of my favorite canned meat (it has to be CLASSIC SPAM… never low-fat or low-sodium) and then fried up a few slices of “spacon”. By slicing the SPAM paper thin, you get crispy mouth-watering pieces of “spacon” that taste like bacon chips!

SPAM doesn’t have to be just a cheap alternative during these tough economic times. In our house we even bring it out for special occasions (like when my niece and nephew stay over), and it will ALWAYS and forever be at the top of my list… in good times or bad.

Recipe for Crispy “Spacon” Chips

Instructions:

1. Using a mandolin or sharp knife, slice SPAM into paper-thin pieces.

2. Heat up a skillet and cook until each side is nice and brown. The browner they get, the crispier they will be.

3. Drain on paper towels.

4. Cool and Enjoy!

Makin' Spacon Step 1, MyLastBite.com  Makin' Spacon Step 2, MyLastBite.comMakin' Spacon Step 3, MyLastBite.com
Above: Crispy “Spacon” Chips

Below: Thicker cuts of grilled SPAM served in my vintage English toast holder.

Lovely SPAM, MyLastBite.com
Lovely SPAM, MyLastBite.com

AdAge’s Top Ten “Recession-Proof Businesses”

1. SOUP
2. MOUTHGUARDS
3. BANKRUPTCY LAW
4. WALMART
5. THRIFT STORES
6. LAXATIVES
7. CABLE TV
8. GUNS
9. SPAM
10. CHEAP BEER
Read complete AdAge Article


Crispy Grilled Spam

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Delicious, Recession Proof SPAM!

  1. I’ve never perceived Spam as cheap. Chicken costs much less!

  2. I do love spam, it’s one of my guilty pleasures. But I agree with Mrs. Mordecai, it’s really not all that cheap =(

  3. Heather

    It’s not cheap, but it doesn’t require refrigeration, either. That’s a bonus that cheap chicken doesn’t offer.

  4. abbymenuism

    Spam, eggs and rice are the perfect Filipino breakfast and I absolutely love cutting my Spam as thin as I can and frying it crispy, too. Yum!

Leave a Reply

