Bacon, Eggs and “Pasta” – Recipe

I love Shirataki Tofu Noodles because they’re a great low-carb alternative to pasta. If you haven’t had them before then you’re probably thinking “Gross! TOFU Noodles??”… but I love them enough to keep them stocked in my fridge.

I’m always looking for ways to cut carbs at home (only at home), so I can continue eating out a couple times a week, and not have to someday turn MyLastBite into “MyBigButt”! I refuse to “diet”, but I’ll happily eat less now so I can eat whatever I want next weekend.

Low-carb Shirataki noodles are already cooked, so you just need to warm them through and then add to whatever you’re making. My two favorite dishes are Shirataki Angel Hair mixed with a little olive oil, fresh herbs and turmeric (topped with chicken), and also a breakfast pasta (recipe below). It’s a filling and a totally gratifying meal, and then I can “save up” eating those extra carbs and calories for my next, outrageous dining adventure!

Bacon, Eggs and “Pasta”

1 Package of Shirataki Angel Hair Pasta
2 slices of cooked bacon (cut into pieces)
1 egg, mixed and ready for pan
1 scallion, sliced
1 tablespoon of parsley, chopped
1 serrano chili, chopped (optional) 
1 teaspoon of chili pepper (I use Nanami Togarashi) 

Throughly rinse the noodles in hot water and drain. When you first open the package, it will smell a little “fishy”. Don’t worry, the smell will go away after rinsing.

Heat nonstick frying pan and warm bacon through. Remove from pan.

Using residual bacon fat in pan, cook scallion and serrano chili to your liking. Remove and add to bacon.

For the egg, add oil or butter to pan if needed, then heat up and gently pour in mixed egg. Lift the handle of the pan and spread the egg around to make a thin omelet. After the egg is cooked on both sides, flip onto cutting board and slice into bite-size pieces (or simply scramble).

Off the heat, add the Shirataki noodles to the frying pan.

Stir in all the cooked ingredients, parsley and add seasoning to your liking.

Enjoy immediately.

Shiritaki Bacon & Eggs, MyLastBite.com
Five minutes to breakfast

Shiritaki, MyLastBite.com
How the noodles look right out of the package.

Shiritaki, MyLastBite.com
After rinsing.

Shiritaki Bacon & Eggs, MyLastBite.com
My Breakfast Pasta. It does NOT taste like a “diet meal”.

Shiritaki Bacon & Eggs, MyLastBite.com

You can easily find Shirataki Noodles at Gelsons and Ralphs markets (if you live in L.A.) and they’re available online too.

Shirataki Noodles (6 grams of Carbs per package)

Nanami Togarashi Chili Pepper

12 Comments

Filed under Recipes

12 responses to “Bacon, Eggs and “Pasta” – Recipe

  1. Jo, you can plate a dish like nobody’s business! What a healthy looking bowl of noodles. Nicely done. Thanks for the recipe. I love noodles, especially rice noodles. Never tried tofu noodles, but I’m intrigued.

  2. norecipes

    As much as I love tofu, I’ve never tried thee noodles before. I’ll have to give them a try sometime.

  3. limeandlemon

    simple and delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  4. I rarely eat carbs, so this recipe inspires me! Ive never heard of these noodles before! I will have to go hunting at the store!

  5. this is actually really flavorful! the noodles hold a lot of the bacon flavor.

  6. hello,your recipes are so cool,I hope it taste the way it looks I am a chinese food amateur and like cooking the dish myself,I’ll try it,I hope I could cook this dish as yours,thanks for sharing again.

  7. Those look amazing (as always)! What is the calorie content on the noodles??

    • The Spaghetti shaped are:
      Serving Size 4 oz.
      Servings per package: 2

      I usually eat the full 8 oz so the breakdown is:
      Calories: 40
      Carbs: 6 g

      For a FILLING PLATE OF “PASTA”.

      Can’t live without them!

  8. I just read that they have ZERO calories… Did you find a store locally that sells them or do you buy them online??

  9. A notable Blog about how to prepare OVO-VEGETARIAN recipes.

  10. A notable Blog about how to cook FLEXTARIAN dishes.

Leave a Reply

