Corndog Hangover

I woke up with a teenie-tiny hangover this morning. One too many martinis while listening to a friend’s punk band last night. I know classic martinis and punk rock don’t usually mix, but the bar was sort of grungy cool, and to my surprise, they made killer Martinis. I’ll write about the bar and band soon.

Lying in bed this morning, my head wasn’t spinning and my tummy wasn’t upset (signs of a major hangover), but I definitely felt dehydrated and extra hungry. My favorite “hangover cure” meal is Yoshinoya Beef Bowl. I love the thin slices of beef, with starchy white rice and pickled ginger, but sadly we don’t have one nearby. There is a Yoshinoya about 20 minutes away, but that seems like hours when you’re too dizzy to walk across the room. My next choice would be Denny’s country-fried steak and eggs (and a side of grits), but again, even with a to-go order, it’s about a 45 minute wait for food.

The only thing that got my sleepy butt out of bed this morning is when I remembered that today is “National Corndog Day”. I didn’t even know we had a day to celebrate corndogs until I read about it on LATimes.com, and immediately went to the market and bought a box of “State Fair Extra Cheesy Mini Corndogs”.

After this morning’s breakfast of bite-size corndogs, bacon, sausage, oozy cheese, and eggs, I have to say… I actually feel 100% better, so Happy Corndog Day!

Hangover Breakfast, MyLastBite.com
This may be my new favorite hangover breakfast, even though on a regular morning I wouldn’t dare touch it! It looks gross but it was just perfect (and yes I shared it with Peter)!

Corn Dog Bites, MyLastBite.com
I prefer mini corndogs to the original size, crisped in the oven or deep-fried. One Bite Heaven!

Hangover Breakfast, MyLastBite.com

http://www.CorndogDay.com

L.A. Times

Dennys

Yoshinoya

4 Comments

Filed under Little Bites

4 responses to “Corndog Hangover

  1. Only a truly gifted home chef can dress up a plate of frozen corn dogs to look like they were prepared by a top tier restaurant. :-) Well done.

    And the sheer fact that you were able to plate them like that AND shoot pictures just proves that you were either NOT hungover, or not hungover enough.

    No question about it – I need to have a box of those.

  2. This looks like the perfect submission for the “This is Why You’re Fat” website ;-)

  3. Phil,
    It wasn’t a MAJOR hangover… just a “why-did-I-have-that-last-martini” morning, but I still needed fatty carbs and protein.

    Gastronomer,
    That’s EXACTLY what I was thinking! I submitted it, but I don’t think it’s gross enough (which is sort of scary)!

  4. holy hangover, batman. i almost want to drink too much just to necessitate the breakfast…

Leave a Reply

