Canned Joy

Nothin’ says lovin’ like a case of SPAM. I’ve loved it ever since I was a kid in Okinawa, and for my birthday this year, my adoring husband got me a case of assorted (I call it “gourmet”) SPAM. Peter also got me a pair of green, platform sandals that I’d been pining for, but I was more excited about the SPAM. Flavors in the case include: Hot & Spicy, Cheese, Smoked, Garlic, Turkey and BACON. That’s right… bacon flavored SPAM!

Birthday Spam! MyLastBite.com

Most of the expiration dates on the tins read “Mar 2012″, so it’s safe to say I won’t be powering through them anytime soon, and I wouldn’t want to. For me, these are high sodium childhood memories that mustn’t be eaten regularly, only as an occasional treat. I’ve learned my lesson in the past, so moderation (however difficult) is an absolute must.

This morning I set up a “wall of SPAM” behind my huge chopping block in the kitchen. It sort of reminds me of a tiny “Warhol Pop Art” installation and it just makes me smile. Now all I have to do is come up with some new spam-a-licious recipes!

Birthday Spam! MyLastBite.com
After unpacking the case.

My Mini Wall of Spam, MyLastBite.com
Part of my mini wall of SPAM


SPAM in my childhood

SPAM.com

Warhol

Me and Andy (on my birthday in 1986)

Pretty SPAM

8 Comments

Filed under Little Bites

8 responses to “Canned Joy

  1. What an awesome gift. You are well on your way to mecca with that pile of canned porky goodness.

    I can say that now, but I’ve had a hate/hate relationship with the stuff. I hated it as a kid, and hated it more as an adult. Then I discovered Musubi and now I can’t live without it.

    Can’t wait to see what dishes you come up with now. ;-)

  2. “Nothing says lovin’ like a case of SPAM.” What an awesome opening line for a post! I’m a first time visitor to your site…and I love it! I also love the “Wall of Spam,” which really does remind one of a Warhol installation. I’m in Hawaii, the Land of Spam, but I’ve yet to develop a deep affinity for the salty, canned stuff. It’s not bad with musubi and beer, though. :) I definitely have a lot of exploring to do here. Thanks for sharing this!

  3. Thanks Jo for introducing us to all there varieties of Spam; didn’t even know they had so many!
    xo

  4. lk

    You have such a loving hubby! I am new to SPAMS. Don’t know there are so many varieties. I learnt something new today. Tks for sharing! Btw tks for visiting my blog.

  5. Katrina

    I love Spam too! It’s a tasty treat. My parents met, married and lived in Hawaii for quite a few years so that must be why I have such fond childhood memories of that stuff in the can that required a key to get out.

  6. Thanks for the gift idea! I know someone who will be so happy to get this gourmet SPAM set.

    Must be hard to adopt the attitude of moderation if you’re a SPAM lover. :)

  7. Mmm. Spam and potatoes fried in a cast iron skillet: Spam Hash (forget the corned-beef!). I’d love to try it with the hot & spicy, which I didn’t even know existed!

  8. I love spam!!! I’m used to having the original one.

    I’d love to see what yummy concoctions you’ll come up with.

Leave a Reply

