My Friend Afaf

My friend Afaf loves to cook, and only recently started to share her authentic, Syrian recipes online. It’s a real treat for those of us who are looking for unusual and exciting (yet still comforting) dishes to cook at home.

Afaf's Kitchen on Foodbuzz, MyLastBite.comYesterday, her food and recipe post was rated #2 on Foodbuzz (out of 2,639 posts that day), and I was personally thrilled because the recipes were from a barbecue/dinner party that she hosted last week. Every dish she brought out was complex in flavor and simply heaven to the taste-buds.

I’m so lucky that I get to learn from Afaf, and just down right grateful that I get to eat her food!

Check out Afaf’s photos from the barbecue here.

Afaf’s Website

Cooking with Afaf (photo)

Afaf’s Arabic Kitchen (story

Afaf’s Baked Kebbeh (recipe)

Afaf's Peppers & Walnut Pesto, MyLastBite.comAfaf’s Mouhamara Recipe here

1 Jar 12 oz roasted peppers, (Well drained)
1 π lightly toasted walnuts for mixing it in the food processor with the peppers
∏ cup walnut chunky chopped for mixing at the end to give it a crunch
≤ cup FRESH plain bread crumbs
2 cloves minced garlic
3 tea spoons pomegranate molasses
1 table spoon lemon juice
1 tea spoon cumin
1 tea spoon Cayenne peppers (more or less it depend how hot you want it)
1 table spoon Tahini sauce
About 1 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Salt to your taste.
In the food processor add all ingredients but NOT the olive oil and Not the ∏ cup of the chunky chopped walnuts
While the processor is running (not for long) start adding (kind of drizzling) the olive oil until it forms the perfect consistency.
In a bowl add the chunky walnuts and fold a few times to mix.
Serve in a room temp. It is great plain on crispy pita bread or a garnish for meat.

Afaf’s HOW TO photo on this page

8 Comments

Filed under Little Bites

8 responses to “My Friend Afaf

  1. Jo!! Can’t thank you enough for all your support, seriously I would have not done it without you!!
    Thanks a million.
    I Love you!!!!

  2. Way to go, Afaf! :-) I love your food. It’s meat-tastic!

  3. Congrats Afaf! Very nice. I have a friend who is half Syrian and his aunt ALWAYS makes mujadarah (rice and lentils) at all the family functions. I love it. Not sure if that was on your barbecue menu or not but wanted to mention it.

  4. David South

    Hat’s off to Afaf! Great job!!! It tasted as good (or better) than it looked too!

  5. Lesley

    I am a British woman married to a Syrian. I found your website via google! I love your recipes, and so does my husband. I made the Kofta, and he loved it!
    He said to ask you for the recipe for Yilangi? The one with vineleaves.. I have made it before but it was awful LOL
    Please keep posting your recipes, It makes life soo much easier.
    Regards,
    Lesley.

    • Hi Lesley! Yilangi is a super easy recipe if you know how to make modified Tabouleh. (use uncooked short grain rice not bulgur and double the measurement on the rice only)
      Then add garbanzo beans to the mix, then roll it with grape leaves; you will have the perfect yilangi…
      Please let me know if you need a complete recipe.
      Thank you!

  6. Hi Lesley, I’ve forwarded your message to Afaf. She is one of the BEST cooks I have ever met, and I feel so grateful to have her in my life.

    Cheers!
    Jo

Leave a Reply

