Pizzeria Mozza – 7/03/09

Pizzeria Mozza, MyLastBite.comWhile waiting for the new Mozza 2 Go to open last Friday, my husband Peter and I decided to get some lunch at Pizzeria Mozza, which is right around the corner. We’ve never gone to Mozza just for the pizza, although they certainly do make our favorite pies in town.

If you were to ask us separately, what our favorite pizza was at Mozza, there is no doubt we would both say, “Chicken liver and Guanciale”. It doesn’t actually exist, but we pretend like it does by each ordering our own serving of Bruschetta with Chicken Livers, Capers, Parsley & Guanciale (three pieces each). It’s the one dish that Peter and I always crave, so whenever we sit down for a bite at the pizzeria, we treat the chicken liver on bruschetta like the “main course”, then split a pizza “on the side”.

I want to note here that the bread that comes with the chicken liver is beautiful. The bruschetta is warm, crispy and is a sturdy vehicle for the creamy chicken liver. I have no complaints about the bread, but I just think the chicken liver mixture would be stellar on Mozza’s light and airy pizza crust. The dough could be cooked with just a little olive oil in the wood-burning oven, then topped with chicken liver, guanciale and burrata while still warm. 

This brilliant idea of ours hasn’t made it on the menu yet, even though we hint anytime we see Nancy at a food festival or at the restaurant. I was thrilled to learn that Mozza 2 Go will be selling their chicken liver for take-out as well, so you can bet I’ll be having some fun whipping up my dreamy concoction at home!

The pizza (that we shared) on this visit was a luscious Egg, Bacon, Yukon gold Potato & Bermuda Onion Pizza. We also each had a quartino of Bastianich Tocai Friulano wine, and it was a perfect start to the holiday weekend.

Pizzeria Mozza, MyLastBite.com
Bruschette: Chicken Livers, Capers, Parsley & Guanciale

Pizzeria Mozza, MyLastBite.com
Egg, Bacon, Yukon gold Potato & Bermuda Onion Pizza, Photo 1

Pizzeria Mozza, MyLastBite.com
Photo 2

Pizzeria Mozza, MyLastBite.com
Photo 3

Pizzeria Mozza
641 N. Highland Ave. Los Angeles,
California 90036
(323) 297-0101
mozza-la.com

Dining date: July 3, 2009

Mozza 2 Go (my first visit)

Bastianich Tocai Friulano

Mozza 2 Go (website)

About Guanciale

12 Comments

Filed under Eating Out

12 responses to “Pizzeria Mozza – 7/03/09

  1. Salivating. That was THE one thing I HAD to have on my birthday!

  2. I just love the Mozza’s! Time to go again. That pizza you guys ate looks so good. And I love that you make your own pizza, and try to get them to put it on the menu. Next time I go I am going to order the Jo & Peter Pizza and see what happens. :-)

  3. I have a soft spot for chicken livers, so those bruschette look like heaven to me. What an awesome appetizer that is. And only a true Italian chef would use Guanciale over Pancetta (or even bacon). It does make a difference to something as subtle as this, and I envy you guys for having had it.

    Yukon gold potatoes on a pizza – never thought I’d see that. It’s like starch on starch — the perfect pre-race snack for any cyclist or runner. :-)

    Thanks for sharing your day at Pizzeria Mozza with us. Bon Appetit rated it one of America’s best Pizzaria’s a couple of years ago. Here’s a link to the podcast if anyone cares to listen:

    http://www.bonappetit.com/tipstools/podcasts/2008/04/the_best_pizzas_in_the_us

  4. Is that a new pizza? I don’t think I’ve seen that one on the menu before! Looks amazing — I think I found my next pie to try! :)

  5. Now I have to go back. I love it there, but need to go back. Perhaps now?
    Boss isn’t here… I should skive off.
    I need to keep a list for the pizzas I’ve tried.
    I used to eat liver as a kid, and haven’t had it in ages – I will be adventurous next time. Thanks for the tips!

  6. i had this pizza last nite. i was simply the best tasting (non-traditional) pizza i’ve ever had.
    wonderfully smokey.

  7. my 8 year old daughter always want me to take her to pizza restaurants because she loves to much pizza .

Leave a Reply

