Seoul Town Tapas!

Over the weekend, Peter and I finally got to taste “Seoul Town Tapas” by Chef Debbie Lee. Her limited-engagement, pop-up restaurant at Breadbar started in late February, but our “dining out” calendar was simply over-booked.

Well, we should have cleared our schedule and eaten there earlier, because an evening of Chef Lee’s modern “Korean Pub Grub” turned out to be a super fun (and of course tasty) experience. Chef Lee is so friendly, that after just a few minutes we felt like she was an old friend. Now I’m really looking forward to learning more about her family’s Northern Korean food.

BreadBar's DebbieLee PosterIt’s BYOB, so Peter and I brought a couple of airline-size vodkas and mixed them with fresh pomegranate juice, provided by BreadBar. The next time I go, I think I’ll have a drink or two before going to dinner, because many of the dishes were perfect post-partying eats. Back in my 20’s (back in the 80’s) when I partied EVERY night, this would have been the “go to” place for after-clubbing “who’d ya hook up with” debriefing sessions with my girlfriends.

“Seoul Town Tapas” ends May 1st, and I already have another table booked with a group of foodie pals before then. I only hook up with one guy these days, but I’d gladly hang out (eat, drink or party) with Chef Debbie Lee any night of the week.

What we ate (we loved EVERY BITE):

Korean Rice Cylinders by Chef Debbie Lee
Korean Rice Cylinders, Maple Smoked Bacon, (homemade) Jalapeno Ponzu

Chips & Dip by Chef Debbie Lee
Chips and Dip: Curry Mountain Bean Hummus, Wonton Crostini

Sesame Flatbread by Chef Debbie Lee
Sesame Flatbread, Perilla Pesto, Soy Baised Pork, Chile Tomatoes

Kimchee by Chef Debbie Lee
Left: Napa (aka Baechu) Kimchee (which means whole) kimchee.
Right: Daikon (aka Kkakdugi).

Mama Lee's Meatloaf by Chef Debbie Lee
Mama Lee’s Meatloaf, Ground Rib Eye, Soy Onion Demi, Crispy Shitake Mushrooms

Korean Fried Chicken by Chef Debbie Lee
Korean Fried Chicken, Garlic Glaze, Winter Pickled Vegetables

Korean Mandu (dumplings) by Chef Debbie Lee
Modern Mandu (dumpling), Pork Rillette filling, King Oyster Jus

Chicken Meatballs by Chef Debbie Lee
Chicken Meatballs, Magnolia Pepper Sauce

Pork Bowl by Chef Debbie Lee
Pork Bowl: Mountain Rice, Spiced Pickled Cucumbers, Fried Egg, homemade Ssamjang

K-Town CheeseSteak by Chef Debbie Lee
Korea Town Cheesesteak, Griddled Rib Eye, Bermuda Onions, Kimchee, Tilamook Cheddar

Fuji Apple Eggrolls by Chef Debbie Lee
Fuji Apple Eggrolls, Ginger Marscarpone Cream

Nutella by Chef Debbie Lee
Grilled Nutella Sammie, Pan De Mie, Sweet Blueberries

Follow Chef Debbie Lee on Twitter@SeoulToSoul

Seoul Town Tapas with Chef Debbie Lee at Breadbar
Dining Date: 4/17/10
8718 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
310 205 0124
Please NOTE: This pop-up event will be ending on May 1st, 2010!

11 Comments

Filed under Eating Out, Hot Chefs

11 responses to “Seoul Town Tapas!

  1. What a wonderful selection of food! Makes me feel like hopping a plane to LA.

  2. It ALL looks so yummy-good. Can’t wait to try it next week. :-)

  3. Kat

    I so agree with you, I don’t think it could have been any better but after understanding the origin of the food from Chef Debbie, I would have loved to have also enjoyed it with a few cocktails for the entire pub grub experience.

  4. You had me at “Korean Rice Cylinders, Maple Smoked Bacon.” Gah! Wish it was going on for a another few weeks – I don’t think I’m going to be able to make it in before the 1st! Hopefully Ms. Debbie pops up again someplace else soon!

  5. Nice job, Jo! I loved Debbie’s food so much (will be talking about it on my show this week). Did you have the Korean Nachos? Of all the delicious dishes she prepared for us when we went, that single dish drove it home for me. It’s the kind of dish that tastes like it has a story behind it. And I think that speaks volumes for her style of cooking – Korean Soul Food.

  6. I had no idea that this was going on! Everything looks absolutely amazing. I was scrolling through the pictures and dying…and then I hit the cheesesteak sandwich with kimchee. Wow. Just wow. haha.

  7. jtreinhardt

    Hi Jo! So nice to meet you at Jitlada, for the “Challenge.” Went to Bread Bar last night (after looking at your pics) with my wife and kids for Seoul Tapas…soooo tasty! The “Korean Nachos” is my new favorite comfort food. Could have eaten that all night, but still had to try just about everything. Didn’t have room for the bacon dessert though, so I’m a little sad, but still grateful for the gastronomic adventure of it all. Thanks for the tip! Great work, I will be mining your blog for more leads. Saw Lloydo and his friend Francesco (the West Coast head of Urbani Truffles) today, and talked of food non-stop. It’s good to know that such obsession is normal in some circles. Keep the faith, and I hope we can dine together again soon!

  8. That sounds like a wonderful, and very tasty, event!

  9. Wow everything looks amazingly delicious! I just stumbled upon your website and I’m glad I did. :)

  10. Oh! This is going on the list of places to check out!

Leave a Reply

