Meeting Bourdain

Last spring, when it was announced that Anthony Bourdain would be touring to promote his new book, I immediately hopped online and checked on ticket prices. June 16th was the date he’d be gracing UCLA’s Royce Hall stage, reading from “Medium Raw”, his his most-recent tell-all memoir. At $175 each, the tickets were pricey BUT included a meet and greet after-party, with food provided by Wilshire Restaurant.

Meeting Bourdain had been one of my life-long dreams, although instead of a book tour, I’d rather it had taken place at some gritty bar in New York (or Tokyo). “No Reservations” (his show on the Travel Channel) is my absolute favorite, and I’ve been a fan since his “Cook’s Tour” show aired on the Food Network.

To me, Bourdain is the ultimate BAD BOY chef (aka pure HOTNESS), and my heart was racing in anticipation for days before the event…

So was $175 ticket worth it?

HELL YES!!!!

V.I.P. Tickets (worth every penny!)
V.I.P Tickets

Bourdain signing my books!
I look so calm… but my heart was racing, I was sweating and shaking!! So, how does one spend an extra few seconds with Tony? By purchasing EXTRA books of course!

I can die now...
Absolute Joy.

Meeting Bourdain
During the V.I.P. post party we munched on Chef Andrew Kirschner’s treats from Wilshire Restaurant. Top Photo: Hamachi Crudo. Bottom Photo: Braised Pork Cheek Crostini with Bacon Tomato Jam and Cipollini Marmalade.

Bourdain V.I.P. Pass
Um yea… I slept with it.

More photos on Flickr

About Anthony Bourdain

Bourdain on Stage“No Reservations: An Evening with Anthony Bourdain”
June 16, 2010
8:00pm – 11:00pm

Royce Hall at UCLA,
340 Royce Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90095

“Kitchen Confidential”, Bourdain’s MUST-READ for food lovers!

No Reservations on Travel Channel

A Cook’s Tour (video clip)

“Medium Raw” by Anthony Bourdain

Meeting BourdainMy favorite quote from the book:
“Everyone should be able to make an omelet… Perhaps omelet skills should be learned at the same time you learn to fu*k.” (page 62)

4 Comments

Filed under Little Bites

4 responses to “Meeting Bourdain

  1. I love how much you love, Jo. Does that statement make any sense? Bourdain is a babe ;-)

  2. You are so lucky! Bourdain is my favorite celeb chef. I love love love No Reservations and all of his books.
    And you got to meet him! Arrrgh..so jealous!

Leave a Reply

