Cheeky Coq!

LudoBites 5.0

LudoBites, MyLastBite.comLast July (09), after enjoying yet another fantastic meal at Chef Ludo Lefebvre’s pop-up restaurant, I wrote: “To me, chefs ARE ROCK STARS, and the restaurants (at least the ones with open kitchens) are my favorite type of THEATER.”

A year later, after dinner at the latest LudoBites arena, with it’s open kitchen, sold out “venue” and lovestruck groupies (including myself), it’s clear to me that Ludo is still the greatest rock star chef EVER.

If you’ve only experienced chef Ludo on Bravo TV’s Top Chef Masters, then you probably think he’s just another cocky, French chef with a bad attitude. Let me note, that on occasion, I’ve had a front-row ticket to his “immense annoyance” (he’s a perfectionist) and it was a bit frightening. But luckily for me, since we’re also good friends outside of the restaurant world, I often get to see the sweet, charming and generous side of Ludo.

Ludo's Top Chef Master's Screening PartyTattoos are a MUST for any serious rock star (be it musician or cook), and Ludo’s inked flesh has been well-documented. We both share a love for Mötley Crüe, so my favorite design is definitely the Crüe album cover art on his forearm, but I definitely dig the LudoBites Coq tattoo he added a few months ago.

Grub Street asked about the new tattoo and Ludo said, “The rooster is the national emblem of France and he inspires me because the rooster wakes up every morning singing, even though he is standing in shit. It does not matter how tough things were the night before. I just have to wake and keep singing…and cooking.”

Ludo’s food is so creative (and amazing) that I actually think he deserves to be a bit cocky about it… and maybe even a bit cheeky. Sort of makes me think he deserves a fan club or something…

LudoBites 5.0
Grilled Squid, Heirloom Tomato Salad, Black Rice, Yuzu Red Onions, Umami Broth & Seaweed Tartare

LudoBites 5.0
Vadouvan Naan Bread, Salted Coconut Butter

LudoBites 5.0
Cheese Cupcake, Chicken Liver Mousse, Kumquats, Cornichon

LudoBites 5.0
Raw Wagyu Beef, Dried Miso, Somen Noodle, Peanut Vinaigrette, Candied Watermelon, Mint

LudoBites 5.0
Goat Cheese Soup, Bacon, Lardo, Tofu, Green Apple, Frisee Salad

LudoBites 5.0
Poached Egg, Potato Mousseline, Chorizo Condiment by Chef Ludo Lefebvre

LudoBites 5.0
Top: Grilled Octopus, Oregano, Grilled Hazelnut Polenta, Pineapple Aioli, Piment D’Espelette Gelee
Bottom: Hot Foie Gras, Chinese Barbeque Sauce, Miso Eggplant Terrine

LudoBites 5.0
Wild Striped Bass, Cauliflower, Black Garlic, Yellow Panna Cotta

LudoBites 5.0
Confit Pork Belly, Raw Choucroute Thai Style, Mustard Sorbet

LudoBites 5.0
Steamed Duck, Lemon Verbena, Crispy Skin Puree, White Peach, Radish, Balsamic

LudoBites 5.0
Cheese Plate of:
Goat Gouda with Pear Kimchi Chutney.
Epoisse with Whole Grain Mustard, Honey comb.
Bleu de Causses with Apricots-Lavender.

Bottom: Caramel Souffle, Blanco Grapefruit, Fleur de sel Ice Cream

LudoBites 5.0
Campfire Smoked S’mores, Guacamole Sorbet

LudoBites 5.0
Gram & Papas
227 East 9th Street
Los Angeles 90015
(213) 624-7272

http://LudoBites.com

7/28/10
Dinner shared with @JulieWolfson@LadyShark66@WithLoveSirine Peter & Melissa.

Gram & Papas website

Chefs Are Rock Stars 7/13/09

Grub Street L.A.

Ludo Bitches

Eater LA

Top Chef Masters

With Ludo

All my Ludo photos on Flickr

Follow @ChefLudo on twitter

Follow @FrenchChefWife on twitter

Follow @LudoBitches on twitter

Follow @GramAndPapas on twitter

RAVE review of LudoBites by New York Times Sam Sifton!

7 Comments

Filed under Eating Out, Hot Chefs

7 responses to “Cheeky Coq!

  1. Just arriving home from our LudoBites visit tonight. MY GOD did he blow the lid off of every menu before it. So many different flavors and textures, it’s hard to even think where he comes up with this stuff.

    Pure genius. Guacamole ice cream – best thing ever.

  2. Kat

    I have heard Chef Ludo talk about his Vadouvan and now I finally got to try it. He was right about the layers in tasting all the components that make up his mixture. I would have been happy with a ton of Naan and the coconut butter but that was just the start. Again, he amazes me with his creativity, playfulness and technique with his food. And as for the front of the house, Krissy his wife is paying attention to every detail and the rest of the wait staff were spot on. Another memorable evening! Count me in as one of his groupies. Ludobitches forever!

  3. Looks like another AMAZING Ludo meal! So envious. I’ve been a groupie from way back — ever since I saw that cookbook shot with the fish (lucky fish). You’re right – he is the rock star of all rock stars!

  4. “Tattoos are a MUST for any serious rock star (be it musician or cook)”

    Well, that explains your fascination with M. Voltaggio. ;)

  5. thanks for posting all of this! i loved ludo on masters but haven’t gotten a chance to taste his food in person, but these pictures give me something to drool over…looks like a pretty incredible meal.

  6. I cannot wait to go on Tuesday! Yay! Every blog post makes me even more excited.

  7. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and outstanding design.

Leave a Reply

