A Cocktail Recipe

I’m not a fan of overly sweet cocktails. Whenever I see “simple syrup” (sugar water) listed on a cocktail menu, I usually just order a vodka or scotch. There’s just something about mixing booze with sugar that guarantees I’ll be suffering a hangover the next morning.

 Mixologist Chris ParkeRecently, my friend Chris Parke (mixologist/bartender at Raphael) created a special cocktail for the latest Test Kitchen night at Short Order. This was a one-time event showcasing burgers and cocktails from some of L.A.’s most talented chefs and bartenders.

On the day of the event, I was surprised when Chris tweeted that he named his clementine (“oh my darling”) cocktail after me. Of course I was honored, but what if was too sweet and I didn’t like it? MyLastBite.com has always been about focusing on the positive. If I don’t like it, I don’t share it.

Thankfully the drink was fantastic (everyone at our large table thought so too). It was fruity, refreshing and just a tad bitter. The clementine cocktail also went perfectly with my favorite burger of the night, made by Raphael’s chef Adam Horton.

Jo My Darlin’ Cocktail Recipe

Jo My Darlin' Cocktail by Chris ParkeINGREDIENTS:

2 oz Bourbon

1 oz Aperol

1 oz Clementine juice

2 dash orange bitters

A bit of chopped basil

A slice of clementine soaked in aperol for 24 hours (to garnish)

Lemongrass for garnish

INSTRUCTIONS:

Mix Aperol, juice, bourbon, bitters and basil together in cocktail shaker, then pour over ice

Garnish with lemongrass and aperol soaked clementine

Note: Chris added a tiny bit of cayenne pepper in my drink. He knows I like it spicy!

Enjoy!

Follow Chris on twitter

Test Kitchen at Short Order

Raphael Restaurant

About Aperol

Cocktail Menu by Chris Parke at Raphael Restaurant. Note: “The Basil” is the one I order the most.

Jo My Darlin' on the Menu

Photo of Chris by Lane Smith Jr. (provided by Chris Parke).

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “A Cocktail Recipe

  1. This post just made me so happy X

Leave a Reply

