Let Go of my Ego

I’ve never thought of myself as egotistical. I don’t usually brag, unless it’s about my niece and nephews, or when Mario Batali triumphs on Iron Chef America… and most definitely when my favorite movie of the year (“Slumdog Millionaire”) wins a Golden Globe or four.

This past Sunday, I was catching up on “My Life As A Foodie” Podcasts by Phil Nigash. My husband and I were listening while I cooked dinner and we were surprised (thrilled!) to hear the host talking about MyLastBite.com. 

Phil and I had been emailing for the past couple of weeks… sharing an obsession for food and molecular cooking… but I was still shocked to hear him discussing my website on his Podcast. Hearing someone talk about my passion for food, is just so different from reading about it. To me it just feels more alive.

I was drinking a glass of wine when I was listening to the podcast, and I swear… Phil sounds like Anthony Bourdain to me. Not just his voice, but also his self-deprecating demeanor. So by the time I finished listening to it for a third time (with more wine), it was even more of a thrill!

Anyway, I’m a little embarrassed to say that it really did stroke my ego, but more importantly it shows true generosity of spirit from Phil. His kind words not only gave me a humongous smile, but they also gave me that one thing I think every writer in the blogosphere desires… a great big scoop of validation. I’m out there every day, writing and blogging, following my passion with all my heart, and it’s being acknowledged.

Thank you Phil.

I’m posting the excerpt here (it’s just under 6 minutes) to share with my readers, friends and family.

Please know that it comes with a large pot of gratefulness, and just the tiniest pinch of ego… which I’m sure will be safely tucked away in the pantry before long.

 

(press the “play” button above)

Please check out Phil’s blog (including his beautiful molecular cooking photos!) 

Gourmet’s Diary of a Foodie episode on Molecular Gastronomy

About Hervé This

My original “Molecular Cooking” article, with the email from  Hervé This

3 Comments

Filed under Food Stories (written by me), Molecular Cooking

3 responses to “Let Go of my Ego

  1. ...with a bullet

    Loved listening to it again. Wish I had a glass of wine right now. I really enjoy reading and now listening to all the stories.

  2. Afaf

    Beautifully said story… I enjoyed listening to every ward of it…
    I was happy to know that you were recognized on the true you (VERY KIND PERSON)
    Iam very happy for you & I love you!!

  3. I have no words, for once. You’re just way too cool. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

