Remi Lauvand – Hatchi Dinner

My first taste of chef Remi Lauvand’s food was back in February of 2008, when he was chef de cuisine at Michel Richard’s Citrus at Social in Hollywood. Peter and I ate there several times before chef Lauvand left in August of the same year.

Chef Remi Lauvand, MyLastBiteThe very first dish I ordered at Citrus was the Mosaic, a “Carpaccio of Surf, Turf and Earth”. It was so beautiful (and of course delicious) that I didn’t want to touch the plate at first. I also remember seriously annoying the diners next to me with my continuous photo-taking (I’m better at it now).

Peter’s favorite dish at Citrus was actually dessert. A chocolate (and if I remember correctly, hazelnut) layered cake with a crunchy layer called, the Kit Kat Bar.

On September 24th, chef Lauvand was the guest chef for “Hatchi at BreadBar” in Century City (see below for more info). Peter and I met up with a few friends and slid into a semi-private booth inside the restaurant. We loved the coziness of our table, but unfortunately many of my photos were awful because it became too dark (even with the help of iPhone lights)! My apologies to chef Lauvand, and also my thanks for a truly wonderful dinner.

Chef Remi Lauvand’s Hatchi Dinner
Endless Summer

Lauvand @ Hatchi, MyLastBite.com
House Cured Tasmanian Trout: Charentais Melon, Tarragon & Lemon Hatch Pepper Relish

Lauvand @ Hatchi, MyLastBite.com
Crisp Pork Belly Salad: Parsnips, Jalapeno Sauce

Lauvand @ Hatchi, MyLastBite.com
Foie “Parfait” Pain D’epices, Black Mission Figs

Lauvand @ Hatchi, MyLastBite.com
Top: Barramundi, Lady Peas, Watercress, Prosciutto, Basil Jus. Bottom: Handmade Farfalle, Octopus, Chicken Oysters, Tomatoes

Lauvand @ Hatchi, MyLastBite.com
Top: Mini Tropezienne, Santa Barbara Pistachios, Chocolate Cracker. Bottom: Penryn Orchard Pear, Crepe Sofia Goat Cheese, Young Walnuts

No photo of Slow Cooked Veal Breast, Carrottes Rissolees, Arugula (too out of focus)

Lauvand @ Hatchi, MyLastBite.com
Hatchi at BreadBar is a “unique venture featuring a different guest chef every month preparing an original, one-night-only suite of eight plates, including six ’savory’ dishes and two ’sweet’ creations”. Hatchi means number eight in Japanese: 8 Plates offered at $8 each.

BreadBar Century City
10250 Santa Monica Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90067
310 277 3770
WebSite (check for upcoming Hatchi dinners)

Dining Date: 9/24/09
With Krissy, Charles & Robert 

Chef Lauvand on Twitter @Reminou

Where is chef Lauvand now? At Cafe Pierre in Manhattan Beach!

L.A. Times writes about Remi Lauvand’s new menu

More about Chef Lauvand

Citrus at Social Website

Roberto Cortez, Hatchi dinner

Michael Voltaggio, Hatchi dinner

6 Comments

Filed under Eating Out

6 responses to “Remi Lauvand – Hatchi Dinner

  1. Keep the Hatchi posts coming! I’ve never been and it looks like I am missing out big time😉

  2. I need to go more often, I’m just missing out on too much of a good stuff!

  3. I have yet to got to a Hatchi dinner. I’m thinking I need to do so soon. And the photos look terrific.

  4. Oh yes! His pork belly was the best. As well as the rest. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. I don’t think that your pictures were bad! At all!

    I’m super excited that a cab ride to the restaurant down here in the South Bay would be $5! YAY! And I can’t wait to try the bar…

    I think we’re going tomorrow night! I’ll keep you posted. I need to go to Hatchi soon…😀

Leave a Reply

