Deep Fried Ramen Dog

The Cooking Channel’s Unique Eats is one of my favorite, food shows on TV. The recent Hawaii / Polynesian Paradise episode included one of the most interesting hot dogs I’ve seen in years.

The Ramen Dog from Hank’s Haute Dogs in Honolulu is a skewered hot dog wrapped in sticky, cooked ramen then deep fried until crispy. Genius!

Even though I’ll be in Hawaii soon (for the Hawaii Food & Wine Festival), my schedule is so packed that I’m actually not sure I can make it to Hank’s. So last night I attempted to make the Ramen Dog at home. It was SUPER EASY and definitely a special (once-in-awhile ONLY) treat. Peter and my brother Greg loved it too!

Deep Fried Ramen Dog

My version of Hank’s Ramen Dog

Ingredients

Deep Fried Ramen Dog4 hot dogs

4 skewers (soaked in water for at least 30 minutes to prevent burning). Note: I cut each skewer to fit in pan.

2 Packs of cooked ramen (no seasoning), drained and dried. You want LONG strands and it should be very sticky (and DRY).

Vegetable oil for deep frying.

Optional Garnishes: I cut up Nori and sprinkled each finished dog with Shichimi and Furikake.

Instructions

Skewer each hot dog with wet, wooden skewers.

Wrap each dog with various strands of sticky, cooked, DRY ramen. Set aside on plate.

Deep Fried Ramen DogHeat oil to 350 (make sure to prepare ramen dogs before eating oil).

Using tongs, gently lay ramen dog into hot oil, turn if needed.

Watch until the ramen strands are golden brown and drain on paper towels.

Garnish (optional).

Eat!

The Cooking Channel

Video of Hank’s Haute Dogs

Hank’s Haute Dogs
324 Coral Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
802-532-4265
Website
Facebook: Hank’s Haute Dogs
Twitter: @hankshautedogs

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “Deep Fried Ramen Dog

  1. OH NO YOU DIDN’T!!! This looks fantastic. The next time I feel like being a bad boy (which is code for “very soon”) I’m totally doing this. Deep fried hot dog wrapped in fried ramen! LOVE THIS!

  2. Looks very tasty! Thanks for sharing it!

  3. Very interesting dish, looks so cool! Got to try it out.

  4. hold the phone. i need this in my life!!!

  5. Tom

    Deep fried corn dogs battered with ramen noodles. Brilliant and beautiful.

Leave a comment