Bacon Wrapped Baby Potatoes

I recently found a recipe for bacon-wrapped baby potatoes on Tastespotting and was sort of dumbfounded because I hadn’t made them before. I’ve wrapped bacon around breadsticks, hot dogs, scallops, beef, chicken, salmon, shrimp, jalapeños, cipollini onions, cherry tomatoes, dates, pineapple, prunes, figs, asparagus and even wrapped bacon around slices of fried SPAM. I know… pork on pork (Oink) !

When I clicked on the link to the recipe, I realized it was incomplete but decided to try them anyway. How difficult could it be?

Bacon-Wrapped Baby Potato by MyLastBite.com

Well it was EASY and FUN. I brought the ingredients to my sister’s house last night and the kids did all the work! We made two batches so there was plenty leftover for breakfast. The kids (who all cook) were discussing the best way to use the bacon-wrapped potatoes in the morning. Maybe cut them into chunks and scramble with some egg whites. Or smash them in a frying pan with a couple of eggs on top then add some cheese and broil everything. How about slicing them with some herbs for a simple side of hash browns? 

The Recipe:

4 lbs. of baby potatoes, washed & patted dry

1 pack of regular bacon (not thick)

Toothpicks. Soak in water first to prevent burning.

Pre-heat the oven to 375F.

Depending on the size of the potato, cut and wrap the bacon around the potatoes and secure with a toothpick.

Place potatoes in a baking dish and bake in the oven for 40-45 minutes or until potatoes are fork tender and bacon is cooked to your liking.

Remove and drain on paper towels before serving.

Note: We served them with some fried crispy onion bits (the kind you find in the produce section), chives and sour cream.

The original (now corrected) recipe link

Tastespotting (warning… this site is highly addictive!)

Bacon Wrapped Baby Potatoes on Foodista

13 Comments

Filed under Recipes

13 responses to “Bacon Wrapped Baby Potatoes

  1. Oh. My. God. That looks FABULOUS!

  2. The best ones were the bite size balls!

  3. Afaf

    Ohhh..now that looks delicious!!

  4. Everything taste better with Bacon wrapped around it. Nice photography.

  5. Esi

    I love bacon wrapped almost anything. Even though I am not the hugest potato fan, I am sure the bacon would seal the deal for me.

  6. I love potatoes and bacon so this seems perfect to me. Absolutely perfect.

  7. I would love to have you share this wonderful recipe with my readers:

    http://www.best-potato-recipes.com/share-a-favorite-recipe.html

    All my best
    Judith

  8. Great photo, gr8 idea; been noshing scallops wrapped in bacon (guests can’t believe they’re from Costco’s hors d’oeuvres aisle!) and since I’m all about easy, these are NEXT. thx! 🙂

  9. I am making this beautiful delicious recipe for Christmas dinner, thanks for reposting Jo!

    And Happy Holidays to you and to Peter!
    Love and Hugs to you both.

  10. Pingback: Recipe > Saveur > Bacon Wrapped Baby Potatoes « BattleRecipes

  11. Michael O'Riley

    So easy even the kids can make it! I couldn’t resist that. I’ll make this to-nite!

Leave a comment